Here’s Your Sign (Mark 8)

nail-scarred-hands

In today’s reading Jesus continues on with his ministry. He begins by feeding 4000. This is the second feeding of the multitude that Jesus performs. Again, it seems impossible for Jesus to feed so many people with so little food, yet he does and the disciples pick up 7 basket-fulls again. Afterwards he is approached by the Pharisees who ask him for a sign. Jesus responds with “Why does this generation seek for a sign? Truly I say to you, no sign will be given to this generation” (8:12 NASB).

How true is this even for people today. My mother likes to tell of a time in my teenage years when I asked her, “How can you believe in something that you can’t even see?” Everyone is looking for a sign that God exists, but everyone seems to be blind to what is actually in front of them. This became clear to me as I began taking a look at Creationism. Seeing and hearing about the world all around me from the perspective of intelligent design, really helped me to marvel at the Creation account found in Genesis 1-2. I would suggest taking a look at The Case For a Creator by Lee Strobel. Something else that helped me was two talks given by Louie Giglio: Indescribable and How Great Is Our God. I would suggest taking a look at these as well.

The signs are all around us, you just have to look.

Jesus continues on his way with the disciples. He asks them “Who do people say that I am?” (8:27). After what others say, Peter states “You are the Christ” (8:29). Then Jesus goes on to foretell of his death and resurrection. Jesus tells the disciples that this will be his sign.

Truth be told, Jesus’ resurrection is the sign that he is who he says he is. Anyone can make the claims that Jesus did, but only Jesus had the power to overcome death. You see, my friends, if we don’t believe in the bodily resurrection of Jesus, that our faith means nothing, because Jesus’ resurrection was his sign.

My encouragement for you today is to appreciate the world that God has created for you, and stop looking for signs. The signs are all around us even in the Bible. One of the most important things for us to do, as Christians, is to spend time in the Scriptures. I encourage you to start reading your Bible, if you don’t already. Hopefully, you are reading along in Mark with me. Keep up the good work, and read you Bible. God is all around us, we just have to spend time listening to Him. How else can we hear Him, but to read His Word.

1 thought on “Here’s Your Sign (Mark 8)”

Leave a Reply

