The Answer to Prayer (Mark 11)

302763_506100069411377_1791640295_n

We are coming to the end of Christ’s life. The beginning of this chapter is during what we celebrate as Palm Sunday, the beginning of Passion week and the end of Jesus’ life. I always find it interesting during Easter celebrations to take a look at the difference between the people’s reactions to Jesus on Psalm Sunday and on Good Friday. I might have to do that during Holy Week next year, but for now I will stick to Mark 11.

The next day after entering Jerusalem, Jesus curses a fig tree (this seems crazy but it’s used as a teaching moment). He then entered the temple in Jerusalem and drove out the money changers say “Is it not written ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer for all the nations’? But you have made it a robbers’ den” (11:17 NASB). Then spent the rest of the day teaching. As the evening came, Jesus and the disciples passed by the fig tree again. This time it had withered and died! The disciples question Jesus about this and his response is, “I say to you, all things for which you pray and ask, believe that you have received them, and they will be granted you” (11:23 NASB).

WHAT?! If I pray really hard and believe I have it, God will give me everything I pray for?! No. I wish that were true. Honestly I really wish it were true. I recently had applied for a job, that I did not receive. I prayed really hard for it. I really wanted this job, but as I said, I didn’t get it. So how does this work in relation to the statement Jesus makes?

Well, honestly, it is hard to reconcile. But God gave me an answer today!

I was listening to one of my many podcasts this morning, and this episode was on ambition. The pastor being interviewed stated, “Sometimes God says no. But He never just says no. He says it because something bigger and better is coming for you.” Wow! I was blown away by that statement. This just means to me that that wasn’t the job God had in store for me, He has something better for me He wants me to do. I can’t wait to find out what it is.

So I encourage you to pray (like I do on almost every post). Pray with all your heart and believe that God will give it to you! However, if He says no, take heart in knowing that this wasn’t right for you and God has a better plan.

2 thoughts on “The Answer to Prayer (Mark 11)”

Leave a Reply

