It Is Too Loud!

Nature_Forest_Quiet_place_near_the_river_015009_

If you’re like me, you live in a very loud world. Cars honking, sirens blaring, phones ringing, people shouting, the list goes on and on. It’s so loud that we can’t hear when God speaks to us. I read an article a few months ago that was talking about “noise” in our worship services. We tend to fill every amount of space with sound, but we leave no room for silence.

I was reminded of a story of Elijah (1 Kings 19:9b-18). In this story all the prophets are being hunted down and killed and Elijah is the only one that remains. God told him to go stand on a mountain because He was about to pass by. The all hell seemed to let loose. There was a windstorm, an earthquake, and a fire. In all of these moments, Elijah did not find God within it. But after the fire, there was a whisper. Elijah found God in the whisper.

So if God is in the whisper, what does that say about the volume of the world around us. It is most certainly too loud, trying to drown out the voice of God. I am still doing the experiment I posted about earlier this week. After reading my Bible and singing a few songs, I just sat and listened. It really helped me to connect with God today, and get aligned with His Will for me today. I was reminded of Psalm 46, “Be still, and know that I am God;” (46:10 NIV). The ability to sit still and listen goes along way when it comes to our relationship with the Father.

So let’s add a little bit of silence to our lives. God speaks in the silence. Yes, He has spoken through loud events (Exodus 19:16-24), but He seems to speak to me more intimately in the silence. Let’s actively try to hear God’s voice by getting away from our loud world, and just listen.

 

P.S. Dang this post was short!

1 thought on “It Is Too Loud!”

  1. I love this. It’s hard for me to stop and just listen especially when I’m not sure what to listen for. But now I am more encouraged to take the time to hear Him. It might take me a while to get it figured out but thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

