I’m So Thirsty

deer_drinking

“As the deer pants for streams of water,
So my soul pants for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?”
-Psalm 42:1-2, NIV

This scripture has been on my mind the last couple of days. The whole psalm expresses a desire to be closer to God. The psalmist clearly has fallen away from God and desires to be closer. He finishes the psalm by writing “Why are you downcast O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God” (Psalm 42:11 NIV). He realizes that in order to feel better, or closer, all he has to do is put his faith in God!¬†Knowing this psalm, I don’t think it was by accident Jesus reached out to the Samaritan woman at a well or offered living water.

We all have times that are rough. We all have environments that aren’t approving of our Christian lifestyle. The trouble comes when these things take us to the wrong place. When tragedy strikes, do you run away from or towards God? Unfortunately, I’m afraid most people run away. They like to use the phrase “How can a good god allow this to happen?”

Environment is a tricky one too. I personally work in a place that isn’t good for Christian growth. Everyone around me seems to be against me, or think what I do is stupid. The place I live has essentially stopped going to church. Largely people seem to think sporting events and sleeping in are more important. And of course, the world seems to be turning away from God. It’s like living in a desert. That’s why I love what the psalmist said, “my soul thirsts for You”.

So we must constantly quench our thirst of God. Without Him, our soul yearns for Him, cries out for Him, or dehydrates from Him. We need Him in our lives, in an ever growing amount. The more of Him we have, the more we need. So spend time in prayer, reading Scripture, singing His praises, talking about Him, whatever your lead to do. We need God back in our lives and in this world. Let’s bring Him here!

1 thought on “I’m So Thirsty”

Leave a Reply

