Praying For A Change of Heart

change-of-heart

Over the weekend, my wife and I were having a conversation with my sister. I caught myself saying something that is embarrassingly true, “I have the tendency to act like a Pharisee and not apply Scripture to life. Rather I use it to read and understand, but I have a hard time living it.”

I believe that this stands to be true for far too many people. We all have our moments where we say, “The Bible says…” but we are just as quick to do the opposite. My biggest concern is for those people we can affectionately call “Bible Thumpers”. These are the people who take the Bible and use it as Law, especially against those sinners. I try my hardest not to do this because I view the Bible to be our guide through life. It is what shows us how to live a Godly, holy life. The issue here is that you have to choose this life. No one can make you live this life, and if someone is, I’d say they have become a lot like the Pharisees.

This is a hard life, being a Christian. It’s not something we are born into. It’s not something we receive from our ancestors. It’s not based on our own abilities. It is solely based on God’s love for us, that we can even be forgiven of our sins.

I read a passage today that got me thinking about my life. Jesus says “Do you not understand that everything that goes into the mouth passes into the stomach, and is eliminated? But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man.” (Matthew 15:17-18, NASB).

Am I showing Jesus with my actions and speech? Jesus is telling the Pharisees, and us, that when we speak (or do anything really) we are showing what is within us. If we have the Spirit within us, we can’t help but show Christ to everyone. This will keep us from acting like that Pharisees and Bible Thumpers, and bring the love of God to our friends, family, and others.

I pray for myself and for you that we can all learn to have a heart like Jesus. If you have a hard time with this, like me, please join me in this prayer.

Heavenly Father. Help me to be more like Your Son. Soften my heart to Your Word, and allow it to fill me up so that I may show the love of Christ to others. This Christian lifestyle is difficult and requires me to do things I don’t really want to do. It’s when I go into it dragging my feet that I shut myself off from You, and whatever opportunities you have for me today. Help me to change my heart to what is good and holy. “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts; and see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way.” In Your Son’s holy name I pray. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Praying For A Change of Heart”

  1. Well said Preston. It is very hard to be a Christian and live it out day after day. We are human so we are prone to failure and mistakes, but we have to remember that we are saved by God’s grace!! This is has helped me many times in some rough patches. All we can do is ask God to guide us and then we have to surrender to his guidance no matter how weird or uncomfortable it may be.

Leave a Reply

