What Does Snow Remind You Of?

photo (3)

 

This morning I woke up to a blanket of white over everything! I really surprised me since I had no idea it was supposed to snow and my entire family was running late for work! I was thinking about all the snow when a Scripture came to mind. “Wash yourselves and be clean! Get you sins out of my sight. Give up your evil ways. Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the cause of orphans. Fight for the rights of widows. ‘Come now, let’s settle this,’ says the Lord. ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, I will make them as white as snow. Though they are red like crimson, I will make them as white as wool. If you will only obey me, you will have plenty to eat. But if you turn away and refuse to listen, you will be devoured by the sword of your enemies. I, the Lord have spoken'” (Isaiah 1:16-20, NLT).

The thing I love most about this passage is that it sounds like a message from Jesus, but it was written several years before his birth by the prophet Isaiah! But the message is great all the same. God knows that we are made unclean by sin. There’s a section in the book The Resolution for Men were the authors talk about living with sin. At the end of the man’s life, he was sick and dying and surround by garbage and filth. The imagery, to me, is one of a man living in a garbage dump who is so sick he cannot continue to live. That’s what sin does to us. It hurts us, makes us sick, and makes us dirty. But God wants to make out lives “as white as snow”. He wants us to be clear from it, to be free and not be sick and dying.

The choice to follow Christ is definitely a hard one. It may not be hard at the onset, but it most certainly gets more difficult as life goes on. Christ is counter-cultural. He stands in contrast to the world, because He knows what God truly wants from us. That’s why the religious leaders of his time wanted to kill him. Christ told them they were wrong. God doesn’t care about meaningless sacrifices (read the first part of Isaiah 1 if you don’t believe me). What he wants is our obedience to him. He promises us that if we follow Him, He will provide for us. So we must stand firm in our faith, and trust the Lord’s provision for us, and that He knows what He is doing.

So looking at the snow this morning, I was reminded. Not only about what Christ has done for me through the Cross. But also that I should put my trust in the Lord, because He is faithful and will provide.

1 thought on “What Does Snow Remind You Of?”

Leave a Reply

