In Christ Alone

inchristalone

The song I want to talk about this week has been around for awhile. It has touched many peoples lives, and is fairly well known within the Church. In Christ Alone by Keith Getty and Stewart Townsend is a simple declaration of why we put our faith in Christ and nothing else. The line “No power of hell, nor scheme of man, can ever pluck me from His hand” just speaks to the level we are supposed to be given to Christ. Paul writes in his letter to the church in Philippi:

“But whatever things were gain to me, those thing I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and counted them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith, that I amy know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death; in order that I may attain to the resurrection from the dead.” –Philippians 3:7-11, NASB

We give our all to Christ, and place all of ourselves in His mighty hand. We will be singing this song in my church today, but I hope you take time to listen and spend time in worship with it. It is a great song of our faith because “here in the power of Christ [we] stand”!

This week’s set:

  • O Praise Him (David Crowder* Band)
  • Open The Eyes of My Heart Lord (Paul Baloche)
  • Center (Charlie Hall)
  • Lord, I Need You (Kristian Stanfill)
  • In Christ Alone (Keith Getty/Stewart Townsend)
  • The Solid Rock (hymn)

Psalms to Pray: Psalm 25-26

Leave a Reply

