Fill Me Up

Cup-filling-with-water-300x199

This week’s song for Worship Sunday, has been one that I wrote myself.

It came during a time over the summer that I was spending time outside every morning, reading my Bible and singing songs to God. I was meditating on the 42nd Psalm.  It reads like this:

“As a deer pants for the water brooks,
So my soul pants for you, O God.
My soul thirst for God, for the living God:
When shall I come and appear before God?”
–Psalm 42:1-2, NASB

This song to me, is all about the pursuit of God that happens in worship. We seek after Him, because He is God and we want more of Him. That’s our soul’s desire. We want to be closer to Him; He is good and pure and we are not, because of our sin. We want to be made more of God. I think about John the Baptist’s testimony, when he says “He must increase, but I must decrease.” (John 3:30, NASB).

We all need more of God, and our hearts and souls are longing for Him. I hope you can spend some time in worship or simply just meditating on the thought today. Simply ask God to “fill my cup with Your living water!”

PS I put a recording of this song here. It’s not the greatest, but I hope you enjoy it.

This Week’s Set

  • Fill Me Up
  • In Christ Alone (arr. Kristian Stanfill)
  • Nothing But The Blood (Matt Redman)
  • How Great Is Our God (Chris Tomlin)
  • Forever (Chris Tomlin)
  • All Creatures of Our God and King (hymn)

Psalms to Pray: Psalm 48-54

Leave a Reply

