LOVE (2 John)

tumblr_inline_mhsa5oGQJv1qlbru5

 

 

 

 

 

As I was doing the reading for today and I struggled with what to write for a little (hence the late posting). The problem mostly came from the fact that the themes in the letters today and yesterday, are pretty much the same. So I really didn’t want to post the same thing twice.

But in today’s posting I’m covering one verse. 2 John is only 13 verses long, there are no chapters, and its a pretty simple, straightforward message. It may get confusing because John starts this letter saying, “I am writing to the chosen lady and to her children, …” (2 John 1 NLT). However, he is most likely speaking to a specific church, probably the same church as 1 John.

There was one verse that stuck out to me today. “Love means doing what God has commanded us, and he has commanded us to love one another, just as you heard from the beginning.” (2 John 6 NLT). This says to me something very simple. As Christians, we don’t act a certain way because we claim to be Christians, we act this way because we love God. It really makes you look at your motives for what you do. Do you help someone less fortunate than you because your a Christian, or is it because you love Christ and that compels you to do it?

Love can make people do some crazy things. It’s enough to cause a strong atheist to begin to take a look at this God thing. That’s my story. I was a man that didn’t want anything to do with God, didn’t need Him, didn’t want Him, and I certainly wasn’t going to be in love with Him. Yet, I feel in love with a Christian, and she told me that we wouldn’t be able to go farther in our relationship if I wasn’t a Christian. So I figured I would give it a shot. I opened my dusty old Bible and began reading Luke.

So we must love others. Love is the basic foundation of our faith and who God is (1 John 4:8). Share your love. Not just with God, but with others. He has called us to love one another, so shouldn’t we listen. Stop bringing each other down, but rather rise each other up. So just…

LOVE